## **NDOT OVER DIMENSIONAL PERMITS INSTRUCTION 14-2** General and Special Conditions of NDOT Over-dimensional Permits

NAC 484D.640. General Conditions of Permits (Adopted August, 2012) (NRS 484D.625, 484D.715, 484D.720, 484D.725) Permits issued will authorize movement upon the highways under the jurisdiction of the Department under the following conditions:

1. Transportation equipment must: (a) Comply in all respects with: (1) The motor vehicle laws of the State of Nevada; (2) All other provisions of the law regarding the use, operation and licensing of motor vehicles; and (3) The conditions and restrictions set forth in the instructions published by the Department. The instructions may be obtained from any office of the Department or at the Internet address <u>www.nevadadot.com</u>. (b) At all times are operated with regard to public safety.

2. When traffic, weather or other conditions are determined by the Department or the law enforcement agency to constitute a hazard, the permit may be temporarily suspended or restricted in use.

3. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, all posted speed limits and "advisory speed" signs must be complied with. If the Department issues a permit that sets forth a speed limit for a particular highway or a section of a particular highway, that speed limit must be complied with.

4. A permittee shall not disturb or remove a guidepost, marker post, snow marker post, sign or signpost without the approval of the Department. The cost of repair of any roadway shoulders, surfacing, guideposts, marker posts, snow marker posts, signs or signposts, bridge or bridge rail or any other appurtenances of the highway or highway right-of-way damaged or unduly disturbed by the permittee's operation must be paid by the permittee. The Department will determine the amount of damages and bill the permittee. The permittee shall pay the bill by cash or certified check within 20 days after receipt of the bill. The failure of the permittee to pay the bill in a timely manner constitutes cause for revocation of his permit, and no other permitts will be issued to him until the bill is satisfied.

5. The permittee shall defend, indemnify and hold harmless the State of Nevada, its officers, employees and agents from any liability, damages, claims or actions for injury to persons or damage to property, whether the property belongs to the State, to the permittee or to third parties, and whether caused by the permittee or an agent or employee of the permittee in the performance or exercise of the permit. Each permit issued by the Department must contain indemnification language in substantially the same form as set forth in this subsection.

6. The Department reserves the right to revoke any or all portions of a permit at any time or for any cause which the Department deems necessary to fulfill its obligations, and the Department is not responsible for any damage sustained by the permittee as a result of such revocation.

7. If drivers employed by a permittee or by a company under contract to a permittee receive citations on three separate occasions within a period of 6 months for violations of a condition or restriction on the permit, the Department may suspend all permit privileges of the permittee for up to 30 days.

8. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection and subsection 9 and unless a person possesses a permit issued by the Department that allows his vehicle to exceed the following limitations: (a) The maximum weight per tire, measured by pounds per inch of tire width, is 600 pounds per inch for the steering axle and 500 pounds per inch for all other axles, not to exceed the axle rating. (b) Except for steering axles and axles that weigh less than 10,000 pounds, each axle must have at least four tires if the tire width of each tire on an axle is less than or equal to 14 inches. If the maximum weight per tire does not exceed 500 pounds per inch of tire width, an axle may be equipped with tires that have a width of more than 14 inches.

9. The provisions of subsection 8 do not apply to a bus owned or operated by the Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada.

10. A vehicle for which a permit is issued is subject to a Level 1 - North American Standard Inspection by the Department or a law enforcement agency before the vehicle may be moved. If the vehicle fails to pass the inspection, the permit will be revoked. The Department hereby adopts by reference the procedures of the Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance for conducting a Level I - North American Standard Inspection. A copy of the procedures for conducting a Level I - North American Standard Inspection. A copy of the procedures for conducting a Level I - North American Standard Inspection may be obtained from the Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance, 1101 17th Street, N.W., Suite 803, Washington, D.C. 20036, by telephone at (202) 775-1623 or at the Internet address http://www.cvsa.org, for the price of \$2.50 for enforcement members of the Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance, \$3.50 for associate members or \$4.50 for nonmembers.

11. Two or more oversized or overweight vehicles may not participate in a convoy unless the permit for each vehicle participating in the convoy so authorizes.

12. The Department may require a permittee to furnish a pilot car, in addition to a pilot car required pursuant to NAC 484D.670, and coordinate additional utilities escorts and traffic control with the appropriate law enforcement agencies for: (a) Loads wider than 17 feet on roads with two or three lanes. (b) Loads wider than 19 feet on roads with four or more lanes. (c) Loads higher than 16 feet.

13. A permit issued for an oversized or overweight vehicle authorizes the vehicle to travel on the highways set forth in the permit and on any adjacent highways that provide access to travel-related services, including, without limitation, a service station, restaurant or motel.

14. If an oversized or overweight vehicle is disabled for any reason other than an accident or unreasonably interferes with the normal flow of traffic, the vehicle, and any accompanying pilot car, must be brought to a stop as far off the roadway as practicable to enable other traffic to pass.

15. An oversized or overweight vehicle may not travel during hours of darkness or holiday hours or on a weekend except as set forth in a permit or special instructions, if any, given by the Department.

16. An oversized vehicle must have its head lamps illuminated whenever the vehicle is in operation.

## **NDOT Special Conditions**

1. NDOT permits authorize use of roadways only under the jurisdiction of the State, except as described paragraph 13 above and on the permit.

2. Per <u>NAC 484D.500</u>, <u>484D.655</u> and <u>484D.655</u>, movement is not authorized during hours of darkness, specific weekend hours, or specific holiday hours, unless the appropriate box on the permit is checked or indicated in the permit's special instructions. "Hours of darkness are one-half hour after sunset until one-half hour before sunrise." "Weekend hours are from one-half hour after sunset on Friday until one-half hour before sunrise on the immediately following Monday." For specific holiday hours, see the NAC, the NDOT web site, or the permit's special instructions.

3. **Per** NAC 484D.680, **oversized vehicles** "must display signs, visible in the front and rear, with black letters that are at least 10 inches high of 1 5/8inch minimum stroke on a yellow background. The signs must read "OVERSIZE LOAD" or "OVERSIZE" and may be mounted in two pieces if necessary. The signs must be neat, clean and mounted securely. The signs must be displayed only when necessary and be removed promptly upon the arrival of the vehicle at its final destination."

4. Single trip permits must be requested by 4:45 PM the business day before travel is desired. Annual permits must be requested at least 30 days in advance of any allowable movement. Special purpose or Super-Load permits must be requested a minimum of 5 business days in advance of the desired travel date.

NDOT Over Dimensional Permits Office: 1263 South Stewart Street, #102, Carson City, Nevada 89712; (800) 552-2127, (775) 888-7410; http://www.nevadadot.com/doing-business/commercial-vehicles/commercial-vehicle-permits; http://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-484D.html; www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/nac-484D.html